Vestibulum sit amet libero vel neque dapibus ultrices mattis massa
23
Apr
279

 

 

 Redžepagić Tower

 Redžepagić Tower is the oldest and most beautiful among Plav towers, built at the end of the 17th century in the centre of Plav. It is thought that this tower was built by Hasan Bey Redžepagić in 1961, while legend says that it was built in the 15th century by a descendant of Ali Bey Redžepagić, for the defense of Plav from the Kliment clan. This tower is characterized by covered wooden balconies built above the rifle holes and three floors connected by wooden indoor stairs. The first two floors were built of stone which in certain places is a metre thick as they had a defensive role. The third wooden floor, called čardak, was added later to be used as a residential space, and was decorated with rich carvings, closets, sofas, carpets and beautifully carved shelves. In 1980 the Redžepagić Tower was fully restored, later turning into a town museum, and is now a protected cultural monument. In the vicinity of the Redžepagić Tower there is also a museum of antiquities in the Redžepagić family house. For three decades, each year in August, the Redžepagić brotherhood reunion is organized in front of the tower, attracting brotherhood members from all over the world.

 Redžepagić Mosque

The Redžepagić Mosque was built in 1774 by Fatima, the wife of the Vizier of Skadar, Kara Mahmud Pasha Bushatlija, in gratitude of her father, Redžep Aga. Characteristic for this mosque is a tall wooden minaret reaching a height of 14 meters and an entrance door with details on wood.

Ferović Mosque

In the vicinity of the Redžepagić Tower another old mosque of Plav is located. The Ferović Mosque, today better known as the Šabović Mosque, was built in 1880 by merchant Haso Ferović as his memorial mosque. Like most mosques dating from that period, it was built of carved stone with a minaret of pine wood. 

Bećiragić Tower

This is an example of guest houses or guest inns, built at the entrance of Plav at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th century. This tower is characterized by the stone-carved geometrical shapes, two sabres, scissors and a pistol at the entrance, as well as the longest preserved calligraphic inscription in the Turkish language. In Plav, mosques began to be built in the 15th century, when the Ottomans conquered the region. Some of the mosques were built at the Sultan’s request, while some were built by regional rulers (pashas or viziers). Many mosques were endowed by local feudal lords (beys and landowners, wealthy merchants and craftsmen), while in small urban districts and villages, mosques were built by family clans or tribes.  

 Sultanija Mosque

Sultanija Mosque, with its concrete minaret 41.5 meters tall, is one of the largest mosques in this part of Montenegro. The Sultanija Mosque was built by Sultan Abdul Hamid II from 1907 to 1909, and is probably one of the largest mosques built by the Ottoman Empire in the Balkans. It was built by famous masters from Debar, who were applying for the first time the technique of carving stone. During the 20th century the mosque served as a school, and afterwards as police station, social service centre and fire department. After more than 9 decades, in 2005 the Sultanija Mosque was restored and it regained its original purpose.

Old or Emperor’s Mosque

In the very centre of Plav, facing each other, there are two unique mosques, the first and the last large mosques built in this part of Europe by the Ottoman Empire. The Old or the Emperor’s Mosque, according to some sources was built in 1471, which makes it the oldest mosque in the area. Other sources state that the mosque was built in the 18th century by Sultan Abdul Hamid, and therefore it was named Emperor’s Mosque. The same sources also say that it was constructed as a soldier’s mosque for the needs of the Ottoman Turkish soldiers. The Emperor’s Mosque, now a protected cultural monument, is fascinating with its original architectural layout, the slim minaret, and a large number of luxurious carvings, arabesques and galleries in its interior. The mosque has been rebuilt several times, and its present-day appearance dates from the 18th century.

Holy trinity Monastery of Brezojevice

The Holy Trinity Monastery in Brezojevice is located only several kilometers from Plav, at the foot of Gradac Hill and on the left bank of the River Lim. Thought to be built in the 13th century, this is the oldest preserved religious building in the Montenegrin part of the Accursed Mountains. For centuries the monastery has been the centre of the spiritual and cultural life of the Orthodox population of this region. The church is built in the Byzantine style, with a single-nave stone structure, a semicircular apse and a narthex on the western side. The bell tower was not built in the church but rather on Gradac Hill, so that messages and information would reach the people faster. The Monastery of Holy Trinity exhibits some of the most beautiful works of wall painting from the 16th century in the Polimlje Region, surviving numerous destructions and reconstructions.

Fortress of the Illyrian Queen Jerinae

If you choose to travel to Gusinje directly from Plav, this fortress is located in the right side of the road, in Martinaj Village, at an elevation of 1090 meters above sea level. From this spot you can see the entire valley. The fortress is also named “Jerina’s Throne” by local inhabitants. Jerina was one of the eight Illyrian queens starting from Teuta, who has inspired many stories and legends. Today the fortress has remained a neglected ruin.

Ethnographic Museum of Vusanje

This eclectic museum and the only one in the village of Vusanje, is found in one of the oldest towers in the area. Through the interesting exhibition and detailed explanations of the museum guide, you can learn a lot on the village’s history and lifestyle throughout the centuries.

Vizier’s Mosque

It was built in mid-18th century and was named after its founder, Kara Mahmud Pasha Bušatlija, the Vizier of Shkodër, Albania. This is the oldest preserved mosque in Gusinje. The mosque has a wooden porch and minaret that are similar to the mosques in Plav but better preserved. Especially valuable is its soferluk (porch) with carved wooden parts and blind arcades. The Vizier’s Mosque was reconstructed several times in the 19th and 20th centuries.

Church of Saint George

It was built in 1926 over an older building, by donations of the Orthodox population. The church has a single nave plan, built of rough, cut stone. The floor is covered by stone slabs and the roof is made of shingle. The iconostasis was crafted by Peter Čolanović in 1926. In the church there are two filigree crosses and 10 icons, as well as several printed Russian books, some of which from the 18th century. 

Church of Saint Anthony

In the village of Dolja, near Gusinje, is located the Church of Saint Anthony, built between 1933 and 1936. The church is a single nave building, with a polygonal apse and a bell tower in the main facade.

Nova-Radončića Mosque

The Nova-Radončića Mosque (New Mosque) was built in 1898, right where the old Pasha Mosque was burned in 1896. When the Nova-Radončića Mosque was built, it was the newest mosque in Gusinje, hence its name. Built from stone with small wooden minarets, this mosque has been reconstructed several times during the 19th and the 20th centuries.

Gravure “Great Mother” (Magna Mater)

The gravure is found on Mount Popadija in the vicinity of the abandoned Volušnica summer pasture, at 1700 meters above sea level. It is believed that it originates from the Middle Bronze Age, about 600 years before the new era, as a very valuable piece of history.

The ancient drawing shows the fight of a man and a woman with a wolf who attacked a child. On this basis, this gravure is called the Magna Mater (Great Mother). In most of the ancient mythologies, the worshipped Great Mother symbolizes earth, sky, fertility, and is the famous feminine symbol of authority over life, displayed through various symbols and characters. According to archaeologist Branko Mijović, prehistoric petroglyphs belong to the post- Paoletian (Neolithic) art of the Balkans.

Grebaja Cave

It is located at an elevation of 1300 metres above sea level, on the mountain called Vezirova Brada near Gusinje. This cave presents prehistoric drawings in white colour on a rock, depicting a scene of deer hunting. This drawing was made in the 8th century BC and it is the oldest drawing found so far from the Iron Age.

For more detailed information read the guide book.

 

 

About Us

Image Gallery

Tourist Information Points

Get all the information about transport, accommodation and activities in the region. 

  • iconGUSINJE - Visitor Centre 
  • iconPLAV - Tourist Organisation of Plav 
  • iconTAMARE - Tourist Information Office
  • iconTHETH - Tourist Info Centre
  • iconDUKAGJIN - Regional Tourism Centre 
  • iconRUGOVA - Visitor Centre 

Explore the Region

  • “Accursed Mountains” - The legend behind it. Read
  • Things to know about the Accursed Mountains. Read
  • Detailed description of the whole itinerary of Accursed Cultour. Read
  • How to reach Accursed Cultour. Read
  • Branding the Accursed Cultour region. Read
  • Dowonload maps of the cultural itinerary. Read
Top
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…